Table of Contents

Manage Channels & Accounts

Erynn Baird Updated by Erynn Baird

Campaign content spans the gamut, and Opal accommodates this across all your channels and accounts. Manage existing and add new channels and accounts for your workspace.

After an account is created, you have access to additional settings that can be applied to make each more efficient for your team.

Add Channels

To get started, you'll want to create a channel. A channel includes anything from a billboard, social channel, endcap, website, etc.

Standard Channel

Opal supports many channels natively, so your content will look the same in Opal as it will when it goes live.

  1. Hover over the sidebar, then click , located next to the Opal logo.
  2. Hover over Configure Workspace, then click “Channels & Accounts
  3. Click “Add Channel or Account +
  4. Select a Standard Channel, e.g. Email, Facebook, Linkedin, etc.
  5. Enter an Account Name
  6. Optional: Add an Account URL
  7. Click “Create

Supported Standard Channels

  • Digital Advertising
  • Email
  • Email Modules
  • Facebook
  • Flickr
  • LinkedIn
  • Longform
  • Pinterest
  • Print
  • Radio
  • SMS
  • Snapchat
  • Television
  • TikTok
  • Tumblr
  • Twitter
  • VK
  • Web
  • Web Preview
  • Weibo
  • YouTube

Custom Channel

Create any channel not available in Opal. Some examples include: website, billboard, end cap, in-store display, etc. Custom Channels are limited only by your creative reach.

  1. Hover over the sidebar, then click , located next to the Opal logo.
  2. Hover over Configure Workspace, then click “Channels & Accounts
  3. Click “Add Channel or Account +
  4. Click the “Add Custom Channel” button
  5. Enter the Channel Name
  6. Select a Channel Image or upload an image
  7. Optional: Update the Sub-Channel Name
  8. Click “Create Channel

Add Accounts

After a channel has been created, add as many accounts as you need. An account is a specific page, profile, location, list, etc. that you’ll use within a channel. You may have more than one account for each channel. e.g. Thistle Global and Thistle U.S.

Add Standard and Custom Accounts

  1. Hover over the sidebar, then click , located next to the Opal logo.
  2. Hover over Configure Workspace, then click “Channels & Accounts”.
  3. Option 1 - Click “Add Channel or Account +”, then click “Add” for the relevant channel
    Option 2 - Click “Add Account +” on a visible channel
  4. Fill in the required fields
  5. Click “Create Account

Add Website Channel Pages

  1. Hover over the sidebar, then click , located next to the Opal logo.
  2. Hover over Configure Workspace, then click “Channels & Accounts”.
  3. Option 1 - Click “Add Channel or Account +”, then click “Add Page” for the relevant channel
    Option 2 - Click “Add Account +” for the preferred website channel
  4. Enter the Page Name
  5. Enter the Page URL
  6. Click “Create Page

Manage Channels

Make changes to or delete a channel.

  1. Hover over the sidebar, then click , located next to the Opal logo.
  2. Hover over Configure Workspace, then click “Channels & Accounts”.
  3. Hover over the channel you'd like to edit, click the  icon.
  4. Click “Edit this channel”.
  5. Make the needed changes then click “Edit Channel”.
Note: Custom Content Types can be managed by editing the name or toggling on/off access.
Warning: Deleting a channel will delete any account and all the associated content.
  1. Hover over the sidebar, then click , located next to the Opal logo.

Managing Accounts

Each account has a number of settings that can be managed.

Options that can be managed include:

  • Account URL
  • Integrations
  • Labels
  • Workflow
  • Content Delivery
  • Lock this Account
  • Placements
  • Settings

Account URL

Click on the “Account URL” icon to edit the existing URL or to quickly copy the URL to your clipboard.

Integrations

If an integration with a publishing partner is turned on for an account, click on the “Integrations” icon to modify “Automatic” and “One-click” delivery options.

Labels

If an account requires specific labels always be added when creating content, click on the “Labels” icon to add the labels. When content is created with this account, the set labels will be applied by default.

Optionally select "Required" to make a label set required for content planned for a specific account. 

Workflow

If an account requires approval from a specific user/s or tasks to be performed for all content created, add the user/s as an account level approver/s by clicking on the “Workflow” icon. Add as many approval or task phases as needed to each approval phase.

For approvals, If more than one approver is listed, specify whether approval is needed from all approvers listed or any one approver. The approver/s cannot be removed in the approval & delivery tab nor can someone approve on behalf of the assigned approver. 

Selecting the option "Do not allow approval phases to be modified on content" will prevent anyone from changing the configured approval workflow in the ”Approval & Delivery” tab.

Tip: It should be noted that the ability for a user to "approve on behalf" of any of the listed approvers is still permitted on approval phases that do not allow modification.

Content Delivery

If you would like to designate a user to receive approved content 30-mins prior to publishing time, click on the “Content Delivery” icon. First select the delivery method (email, SMS, or email & SMS) and designate the user.

Lock Account

If creation and deletion of content for an account needs to be limited to specific users, click on the “Lock this Account” icon and specify who can create and delete content for an account. If a user does not have access to create or delete content with an account, they will still be able to view the content.

Placements

A placement is a space that your content can occupy on a virtual or physical location. That placement may be any number of spaces such as a billboard, social channel, endcap, website, etc.

Edit Account

To make changes to the account, click the  icon to edit, deactivate, or delete it.

Note: When an account has been deactivated, all the existing content will remain in your Opal.

How did we do?

Previous | Next

Manage Label Sets & Labels

Manage Workspace Workflow

Contact